Friday, 4 January 2013

Geography of Brunei

Brunei Darussalam coat of arms

About Brunei Darussalam geography, Brunei Darussalam consists of two unconnected parts with the total area of 5,766 sq. kilometers (2,226 sq. miles). 77% of the population lives in the eastern part of Brunei, while only about 10,000 live in the mountainous south eastern part (the district of Temburong). The total population of Brunei Darussalam is approximately 428,000 (2010) of which around 130,000 live in the capital Bandar Seri Begawan. 

Other major towns are the port town of Muara, the oil producing town of Seria and its neighboring town, Kuala Belait. In the Belait district, the Panaga area is home to large numbers of expatriates due to Royal Dutch Shell and British Army housing and recreational facilities. Jerudong Park Brunei, a well known amusement park, is located on the west of Bandar Seri Begawan.

Most of Brunei is within the Borneo lowland rain forests ecoregion that covers most of the island but there are areas of mountain rain forests inland.

Brunei Darussalam Map

Brunei Darussalam has a tropical rainforest climate. The average annual temperature is 27.1 °C (80.8 °F), with the April–May average of 27.7 °C (81.9 °F) and the October–December average of 26.8 °C (80.2 °F)

1 comment:

Brunei Share : The legends surrounding of Bukit Tempayan Pisang

The legends surrounding Bukit Tempayan Pisang can be promoted to attract tourists. This suggestion was yesterday made by Minister of Hom...