Friday, 18 January 2013

4 District in Brunei Darussalam

Brunei-Muara, with an area of just 570 sq km is the smallest but the most populous district of Brunei Darussalam. The capital, Bandar Seri Begawan, is approximately 16 sq km in size and has a population of about 247 200 people (2004 consensus).

 Tutong, the third largest district in Brunei Darussalam with a total land area 1,166 sq km, is the home of many Bruneian's ethnic tribes such as the Dusun, Murut, Kedayan and so on. Its population is around 41,600 people.
 Belait, is the largest district of Brunei Darussalam. With a land area 2,727 sq km housing 59,600 people, it is the production base of the nation's main export commodities -oil and gas. The eight territorial subdivisions/mukims in Belait are Seria - the oil town as it is called, Kuala Belait, Sungsi Liang - the site earmarked for oil and gas downstream industries in the near future, Bukit Sawat, Kuala Balai and Melilas.
 Temburong, located at the eastermmost part of Brunei Darussalam, is the country's second largerst district but the least populated. Heavily forested and largely undevelop, this 1,306 sq km district has a population of just 9,400 people.
Around 60,000 people live in this capital, which remains remarkably quiet even at the height of rush hour, save for the occasional minor traffic clog around schools at times.

The excellent Brunei museums, resplendent mosques and scenic spots in the country will awe the visitor.

1 comment:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...